Review: Honda Wave 110 as a C90 owner

Anything else ya ride!
AE86
Rides:: Honda Dio 4T

Review: Honda Wave 110 as a C90 owner

Post by AE86 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:24 am

Hi all,

10 months? ago roughly, our family picked up a brand new Wave 110, carbureted version, but the FI version feels very similar in power delivery...and before I'm going to ditch the bike in favor of my 90 again, I wanted to add a review for anyone interested.

Video review here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E0GdhsDjF78&t=240s

and below is what I think "on paper".

Background: My old daily rider is a C50 with a 90 motor in it (slightly modified up to 91cc, from 85, and high compression piston). A good day it will break 100 kph (62 mph), but usually 93-95 tops (58-59 mph). I've been riding Cubs as my daily rider for the past 6 years so I'm very used to them. I'm 5'7" and 9 stone.

The Wave: It is a 2016' 110 RSX model, front disk rear drum, same configruation and frame as most of the Waves, just different plastics. Bought new for me was £690 worth, but in the U.K. I imagine it a lot more, maybe in the £1600 range.

Build quality: This bike was manufactured and largely built in Vietnam (90/10 Vietnamese Japanese parts), and the build quality is alright. I'd give it a 4 out of 10 on feel, but for the price, even if it were nearly 2 grand, would still be a good bike in my opinion. The paint scratches ridiculously easily, so we had the same plastic you wrap mobile phones in, put all over the body. Works great.

Compared to a C90, the switchgear and feel is no match though. The C90 has a much more solid feel to it.