Hi there

Are you new to the forum? Please come in here and introduce yourself, please don't forget to check out the rules as well!
simon3314
Rides:: honda c50

Hi there

Post by simon3314 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:50 am

Hello I'm new to the Forum. I bought a 1982 Honda C50 LA last year. Iv'e had as a side project just doing bits here and there (aquiring new log book, new tyres etc.). I took the oppurtunity to jetwash and heavily underseal under the rear wheel arch which was in good nick anyway.

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-qlLe ... %25201.JPG

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-qrv_ ... %25202.JPG

The photo's show it without the leg guard which I have. I also have a couple of nice mid and rear chrome racks and a white back box to fit. I like the idea of fitting a windshield too.

The leg guard is off because the bike is giving me a hard time with running properly. I got half way to an MOT the other day and it started playing up. I'm a mechanic of sorts so spent a good day on it yesterday, stripping the carb again checking the jets and float level etc. On the test ride after 5 minutes of running around the block it would start running erratically with high tick over or have dead spots or start chasing.

Any advice would be welcome and I haven't really carried out a proper inspection of the electrics yet.

But on the whole I'm happy to take it to someone who knows the C50 LA like the back of their hand and get them to sort the problem, followed by a fine tuning so that I can get on my way. I was ready for my 'years of reliabilty' and at present it's driving me nuts! I'm having to catch the tube everywhere. I'm based in London (elephant and castle).

So if there's any Cub wizards near to me that want a bit of work please get in touch... Cheers... Simon

Boo
Rides:: Elephant Grey 1967 CM90 based 'bitsa'.

Re: Hi there

Post by Boo » Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:17 pm

Hi, and welcome! Looks a very solid bike you've got there. :D